Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Fast, Cheap Technique for Getting a High Point of View

Posted by larrylohrman on May 11, 2006


Marc Lacoste of Nantes, France contributed an important technique in a comment on yesterday’s Helicam post. I think it is important enough to repost so no one misses this discovery. Marc says, “I’ve found a trick for getting a high point of view, fast, cheap and suitable for crowded locations. I extend my tripod the max, set a ten seconds timer for the shutter, grab the feet of the tripod and stand it arms extended over my head. The camera is 4 meters tall and there is an interesting perspective”.

This is a remarkable difference in raising the position of the camera by 4 meters. The feel of the image changes from a “down in the bushes” feel to a Helicam” feel where you can see much more of the attractive features of this home. The difference between not being able to see the tile roof to having the beautiful orange tile roof as a major part of the photo is striking.

Marc, thanks for sharing this great technique!

12 Responses to “Fast, Cheap Technique for Getting a High Point of View”

  1. thanks, glad you found it useful. here is a self-demonstration of the camera boom. The ceiling is 3.8 meters, so the lens is 3.6 high, the flash was almost touching.

    Indeed, it doesn’t seem so much, but it’s like it is place on a 1 meter tripod (or waist level) on the second story. Another benefit is that the walls of the house are vertical on the picture if you maintain the verticality of the camera.

  2. Anonymous said

    What a GREAT idea. I’ll have to try that myself! Thank you, Marc and Larry.

    Greg DiSisto
    REALTOR®, Broker
    DiSisto Realty, Inc.
    Florida

  3. Anonymous said

    What a GREAT idea. I’ll have to try that myself! Thank you, Marc and Larry.

    Greg DiSisto
    DiSisto Realty, Inc.
    Florida, USA

  4. Anonymous said

    This technique did occur to me but I’d be a little nervous about balancing my expensive equipment from my tripod. Maybe I need to do some shoulder and arm strengthening exercises.

  5. […] Fast, Cheap Technique for Getting a High Point of View […]

  6. Interesting technique.
    The link above camera boom, does not appear to work. 😦
    Is there a link that works, would be keen to have a look.

    Cheers,
    Adam Maurer
    Brisbane, Australia

  7. […] This is taking Marc Lacoste’s idea of holding your camera on your tripod over your head to the next level! […]

  8. […] Recent Comments Photograph Architecture Not Furniture « Photography For Real Estate on Your Mission: Photograph Homes and Roomslarrylohrman on Ebay has a ton of Wide-angle Converters!Cherie Irwin on Ebay has a ton of Wide-angle Converters!Telescopic Mast – Another Way to get a High View « Photography For Real Estate on Fast, Cheap Technique for Getting a High Point of ViewAdam Maurer on Photo of The Week – 1.5 Million Dollar Aerial Shot […]

  9. Fred said

    I use a SkyPod (http://www.studio1productions.com/skypod.htm) both indoors and out. It’s a monopod that extends up to 10′. Gives you the opportunity for some interesting shots, especially over cars, etc… if necessary.

  10. Lee Jinks said

    I use a 30′ telescoping pole with a pocket TV and remote shutter release. It’s slightly less flexible than the SkyPod but much cheaper. It is small and light enough to carry around while I shoot the front, back, inside, where ever I can walk. The pole is fiberglass, so if I get stupid some day and raise it under some power lines, I should live through the ordeal.

  11. Hi to every one, the contents present at this website are in fact remarkable for
    people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  12. Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re
    using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a honest price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a comment