Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Ebay has a ton of Wide-angle Converters!

Posted by larrylohrman on February 8, 2006

A wide-angle converter (or lens) is essential for interior photography. A reader recently pointed out that Ebay is a great source for wide-angle converters. To find them just go to ebay.com and click on Cameras & Photo along the left side of the screen. Then search for "wide angle lens". My search got 1975 items most of which are wide-angle converters for various camera models. There appears to be more wide-angle converters here than are routinely available at some of the big camera sites like B&H Photo and 47th Street camera. And the ones I found on Ebay I couldn't find at B&H Photo.

One interesting item the reader pointed out is for sale on Ebay is a 67mm .5x wide angle converter that screws on the front of a Nikon D50 or D70 that would turn the standard 18-55mm lens that comes with the D50/D70 into the equivalent of a 14mm lens for between $89 and $99. Not bad if the quality is acceptable. I'd like to hear from someone that has experience with one of these to see how the quality is.

2 Responses to “Ebay has a ton of Wide-angle Converters!”

  1. Cherie Irwin said

    I recently purchased my camera Canon 30D from an ebay store. They included a wide angle converter in the package. While I had no intention of using it, I decided to attach it to my lens to see what kind of images it would produce. Since I’m a Realtor (R) by trade, I may not be exact in my “photography” language. Nonetheless, the image itself was of reasonable quality, though the four corners of the image were not exposed, similar to the image you placed on this website as a sample of vignetting. I just thought I would give you an idea of the experience that I had with the wide angle converter.

    By the way, I am ever so grateful for your website. It is the only one out there of its kind. As a Real Estate agent that is disgruntled with some of the local options for Real Estate photographers, I am definitely to the point where I am ready to do my own shoots. It seems a far better alternative than paying top dollar for photos with burned out windows and bad composition. I refuse to pay even another dollar for a photo in which the television becomes the focal point of a room…I’d rather keep creative control in my own hands than pay someone to give me a photo of a Great Room with gorgeous architectural appointments, yet the T.V. still somehow entered in as the focal point. As a Real Estate professional yourself, you understand that we are attempting to the sell the house, not television sets. So again, I am grateful for the tips, tutorials and links that you publish here. Without it, I would have been at a loss on even how to get started.

    Thanks,

    Cherie

  2. Cherie,
    Thanks for the feedback on your converter experience. With a 30D you would probably be happier with a Sigma 10-20mm zoom to get wide-angle shots. I’ve gotten feedback from several realtors/RE photographers that the love the Sigma 10-20mm for RE photography.

    Also, thanks for the positive feedback on this blog. Send me some of your work sometime other Realtors are always inspired by seeing what photography other Realtors are doing.

Leave a Reply

 
