Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Photoshop Elements

Posted by larrylohrman on March 6, 2006

Photo editing is a skill essential for good interior photos. I recommend Photoshop Elements as a photo editor to real estate photographers because it has everything you need but is a fraction of the price of Photoshop CS2. I have realtor friends that have purchased the full blown version Photoshop but are having a difficult time making it over the steep learning curve that Photoshop has. Photoshop Elements is all you need but is easier to learn. I love Photoshop CS2 and would not give it up for anything but I’ve used Photoshop for 10+ years and gone to tons of classes and workshops on Photoshop. I’m continually amazed at how many Photoshop features are in Photoshop Elements. I have Photoshop Elements version 4.0 but I’ve had readers tell me that Photoshop Elements 3.0 is more powerful although I don’t think you can buy it any longer.

You need to do photo editing because no matter how good your shots are there are improvements that need to be done after the image comes out of the camera. Sizing, format conversion and sharpening are simple examples. With a photo editor like Photoshop Elements you can replace skies, combine several bracketed images to get window detail and clone out cars from driveways to name just a few photo editing functions.

For example, I find that it is easier to make the walls vertical and horizontals horizontal while resizing a interior photo than it is to pay careful attention to leveling the camera front-to-back and left-to-right while taking the shot. Having vertical walls is essential to good interior photography- there is nothing I find more distracting than seeing interior images with walls that are not vertical. Another photo editing job is taking all the clutter off refrigerators. Every home I shoot has photos, kids drawings etc all over the refrigerator. We tell the sellers to take it down but somehow it’s always there when I arrive to shoot the photos. It’s much faster to take this clutter off with Photoshop Elements than it is to take it down before I shoot the photo and politely put it back where it was.

Leave a Reply

 
