Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Perspective Correction with Hugin

Posted by larrylohrman on March 30, 2006

Today I got a great comment on a January 26th post where I was ranting about images that had walls that are not vertical. I described how to make sure walls are straight by using the Image>Transform>distort tool in Photoshop and Photoshop Elements.

Marc Lacoste said…
I suggest you use real perspective correction, not stretching for better results. See this tutorial for Hugin: http://hugin.sourceforge.net/tutorials/perspective/en.shtml

I’d heard of Hugin but I didn’t know it could be used for perspective correction. Hugin is free and it runs on Mac’s and PCs. Marc’s comment suggests that the algorithm that Hugin uses for perspective correction is superior to using distort to stretching the image so the walls are straight. I’ve never noticed a quality difference with images I use Transform>Distort on but maybe there is a down side to using distort. I’m going to check out Hugin for correcting perspective.

2 Responses to “Perspective Correction with Hugin”

  1. I’m glad you found my comment useful. You can think of it like a real perspective correction view camera used for architecture. Here is an ugly example: my co-worker shoots downwards, and I could save it a little (plus lighten windows and color correct a bit):
    view

  2. Asking quеstions are truly pleasant thing if ʏou are not understаnding anything totally, but
    this paragrapһ offers nice understanding yet.

Leave a Reply

 
