Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Success with Hugin

Posted by larrylohrman on April 3, 2006


Notice that Marc left a comment on yesterday’s post which included a link to an excellent tutorial that shows how to correct the perspective in the photo of my living room that I posted yesterday. I like Marc’s tutorial better than the one he referred to earlier. As you can see from the photo above I got Hugin to do perspective correction. One addition to his tutorial is on the final step before clicking “Stitch Now”. Be sure you set the width like Marc’s screenshot (it is set to 500). On my first try this width was set to a default of 3000 and the result looked strange.

Thanks Marc for your understandable tutorial and not giving up on me. You are going to make me a Hugin user yet!

I think it is worth noting that a lot of folks in the real estate industry that find Photoshop and Photoshop Elements difficult to impossible to deal with. Any photo editor you use will take a while to get over the learning curve and once you become familiar with it you will resist change.

One Response to “Success with Hugin”

  1. One addition to his tutorial is on the final step before clicking “Stitch Now”. Be sure you set the width like Marc’s screenshot (it is set to 500)
    It is done by selecting calculate optimal size.

    You are right on the learning curve. I balance between photoshop elements and the gimp. Each one need to be learnt; photoshop is more widely used and therefore it’s more probable to find info on specific subjects (like real estate photo); on the other hand I prefer libre software for being able to be the master of my data – I trashed MSoffice happily for OpenOffice.

Leave a Reply

 
