Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Real Estate Photography With Sony A100 & Sigma 10-20 Zoom

Posted by larrylohrman on January 14, 2007


Richard Clafton working in Seabrook, Texas sent us a link to a gallery of his real estate photography work done with a Sony A100 and a Sigma 10-20mm zoom lens. Richard says:

“I have some sample images on my site over at www.riroc.com/gallery.aspx. All the images in the gallery were taken with a Sony A100 10.2mp Camera fitted with a Sigma 10mm – 20mm lens. No flash was used and all images were taken with long exposures on a tripod at ISO80.

The detail from this lens is amazing. I have some other images over at www.clafton.com (my personal photoblog) that were also taken with this lens. The exif information is attached to each and every image so you can see which ones were shot with that lens.

A recommended buy!”

This is the first time I’ve seen results with the Sigma 10-20 used on the relatively new Sony A100. Thanks Richard.

4 Responses to “Real Estate Photography With Sony A100 & Sigma 10-20 Zoom”

  1. I use the Sigma 10-20mm almost exclusively and it’s a great lens!

  2. I have to say I love this lens, too. It’s just as wide as needed and sufficently sharp at all apertures for its purpose – I don’t need more than 1Mpix. Its main drawback is its barrel distortion, removeable with PTlens or DxO optics when it’s too visble, ie when a straight line is present at the edge.

    When I saw its usefulness, it’s realy cheap. Makes me wonder if the canon 5D + sigma 12-24 is worth it, but there is some appeal. There is a flickr group dedicated : http://www.flickr.com/groups/sigma10-20/

    Here are some great reviews of various ultra wide : http://www.16-9.net/lens_tests/

  3. Mike Price said

    I was about to post the same recommendation regarding PTLens. The exterior photos really need it. It looks as if something was done to the interior shots to straighten out the barrel distortion. I find PTLens to be more effective than DxO.

    On another note. Great Blog! It’s a great resource for the Real Estate Community.

    Cheers,
    MP

  4. I’ll ned to try PTlens: I love open source programs and dislike DxO badly ported mac application (CPU usage always at max, spinning fan), and disrupting my workflow.

Leave a Reply

 
