Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

Lightroom 1.0 New Features

Posted by larrylohrman on February 20, 2007

From Ohs Remodel

Yesterday downloaded the Lightroom 1.0 trial version to use until the distribution CD I ordered gets here. I was pleased to find so many new features have been added since the last beta version.

I particularly like the straighten feature that allows you to rotate an image. There’s still no way to distort an image to fix converging verticals but maybe in a later version. I don’t know if the lens correction controls are new or I’d just not noticed them before.

The shots above are of an neighbor’s remodel project that we looked at yesterday. I’d never noticed before that my Canon 16-35 zoom has so much light fall-off (vignetting) at the edges when zoomed out to the widest angles but seeing images in the “before and after” viewing mode it’s immediately obvious. It was easy to quickly fix the problem with the lens correction slider.

I also like the way Adobe has improved the format of the Flash web slideshows in the Web module. Much nicer than the beta.

5 Responses to “Lightroom 1.0 New Features”

  1. I viewed your slideshow done in Lightroom, and it looks almost identical to the Flash Slideshows in Photoshop Elements (PSE) 5, for Windows. The module includes loads of interchangeable templates to work with and allows you to format colors and text also. I haven’t looked at Lightroom since the beta was launched, but as I said, your slideshow looks quite similar to those in PSE 5. Perhaps this may be of value to those photographers & agents already working with PSE. It also allows you the ability to burn the slideshow to CD. This is such a fantastic tool, and it has helped me boost my incoming revenue by almost 25%.

  2. BTW, I offer the “Custom Slideshow on CD” to my clients, and I use ink-jet printable CDs and print a vibrant picture of the home in the background with the agent photo in the foreground along with pertinent contact information. I use the Epson Stylus R220 Photo Printer(about $130 on Amazon.com), and it does a fantastic job. I buy the Silver Inkjet Printable CD-R by VERBATIM. A spindle of 100 CDs costs around $20 at Sams Club, and they look incredible when complete. My clients love the finished product and they pay top dollar to avoid having to mess with ugly CD labels and burning the CDs themselves. It’s an overall winning solution. The only downfall is that it takes some time to actually print the CDs as they have to loaded and printed individually. I’d love to have a thermal printer, but it will be awhile before that is in the budget.

  3. Cherie,
    You are one step ahead of me. I was thinking about picking up version 5 of PSE to see what new features it had. I was thinking it probably had those kind of features because it was getting pretty close in the last few versions. Thanks for the info.

    I’ve always thought that CDs for sellers are a big oppurtunity for RE photographers and you just confirmed it. I always make CDs for my sellers and many times the buyers ask for a copy too. Sellers just love to have a keep sake for the home when they move out. One seller with 5 kids wanted a copy for each kid. I was happy to make copies for him.

  4. Bought LightRoom 1.0 today (almost forgot to do it!) and I really like the new spot removal tool. I think it is far better and easier to use than Photoshop’s. I can’t wait to see what additional “modules” people come up with to add the the program.

    The web galleries are really slick too. I would assume that since both applications are from Adobe, the galleries in Elements are similar to those in Lightroom.

    I used to print stick on color labels but now I burn client CDs with a LightScribe burner. Though it can’t do color, the burnt labels have a nice subdued sepia tone to them that I think is kinda neat. I takes a while to burn a disc but you don’t have to worry about inks.

  5. Roger Hall said

    I have been a full service dealer with Real Tour Vision for three years now. I have offered the printed Cd’s since epson came out with their CD printer about 2 years ago. I had stopped offering a CD with a color label after a label bubbled up and locked a CD drive up. It was an easy enough repair, but I did not want to run the risk of it happening to a client. With a little work the Cd’s are close to photo quality and look great.

    Before illness slowed me down, I also worked as a real estate agent. The best use I found for the color printed Cd’s was at open houses and in the home information package. I put the Virtual Tour and all of the disclosures and home information on the CD. It was rare to have someone leave the house without a CD, even if the house was not what they wanted. Curiosity compelled them take one and check it out. If they were not represented, I knew my name was in their hands.. literally.

    I did gain clients who were shown the CD by someone who had toured the home. If someone likes the home, they will show the CD with the Virtual Tour to just about everyone. By using something that was different I generated a little buzz and when people looked at the virtual tour or anything else on the CD it was covered with my branding.

    I do offer a printed CD with every virtual tour I shoot. It includes a few stills for the agent to use. I also offer extras at an additional charge. Few agents seem to see the potential in the Cd’s though. I think there is great potential from the photographer to the agent to market themselves in a different way.

Leave a Reply

 
