Photography For Real Estate

Tips and techniques for real estate photography

DVD Tours from www.dvd-tour.com

Posted by larrylohrman on March 9, 2007

Today I got 2 DVDs in the mail from Jim DHaem over at www.dvd-tour.com. Jim offered to make me a demo of his DVD making service. So I just e-mailed him 20 photos of a listing that just closed last week and he created a DVDs slide-show complete with Ken Burns style panning over the still shots and a subdued music sound track. I normally shut off sound tracks on most tours because I find them annoying. But I like Jim’s because its minimal. Jim puts his DVDs in a clear, thin style DVD case and makes a printed cover that is a composite of the external shot of the home with a Realtor photo, listing info and contact information. These DVDs are suitable for a seller or buyer gift sending to prospective buyers. I’m going to give these to the seller and her daughter that helped get the home ready for market.

I was actually trying to create my own DVD using Photoshop Elements 5 and Premiere Elements but Jim’s DVDs came before I was able to get mine working. Frankly, I rather order the DVDs from Jim (2 for $19.95) than spend the time making my own since it will take a fair investment of my time to learn how to make DVDs as good a Jim makes.

6 Responses to “DVD Tours from www.dvd-tour.com”

  1. sworlando said

    I’ve made dvd’s on idvd and photoshop elements 5 and love the format but it always seems like the photos become degraded on a dvd vs a flash slide presentation made with adobe. I love the fact that you play the dvd’s on a tv but even on my plasma the photos looks unsharp with distorted colors. I’m curious to see if the dvd’s from this company have better looking photos.

  2. I’ve been using the photodex ProShow Gold, which is pretty easy and fast to use. I also did notice a slight degradation in quality, but, the agents it was done for were extrmemly pleased with it. I suppose those of us with a critical eye might catch the drop in quality, but most don’t seem to notice.

  3. I had Jim make my DVDs with the exact same files that I had on the MLS and real estate web sites. The optimal file size for DVDs is larger than the web. Of the photos I used for this listing I got some neighborhood photos from another agent and enlarged them to match the 800x600x72 files that I shot. The enlarged photos didn’t look good but uncritical viewers find them acceptable particularly when viewed across the room. When you look too close on a large flat plasma screen its easy to find fault!

    Then there’s the aspect ratio problem. Photos I use on the web are 4:3 and large screen TVs like 16:9. When I first looked at the DVD I thought Jim had done something to the images but it was just that I had the TV in full screen 16:9 mode.

    Any one know what the optimal file size is for creating DVDs for a large screen plazma TV is?

  4. Drew King said

    1920 x 1080 is HD 1080i
    1280 x 720 is HD 720i

  5. Drew,
    Thanks, that what I was looking for so if DVDs are made with these files sizes the will be HD quality.

  6. HDTV Sony

    Excellent post.

Leave a Reply

 
